Sun. Dec. 05, 2021

Joey Negro – Must Be The Music (The Original Disco Mix)

Single Of The Week: Joey Negro – Must Be The Music (The Original Disco Mix) (Z Records)

Question: how to ever do a better version than the original?
Answer: follow what Joey Negro did on ‘Must Be The Music’…

Many of you might argue the fact the ‘Music Be The Music’ first saw the light back in 1999. And also that our environment has pretty much changed in the meantime. Which is quite true as a matter of fact. Thus makin’ it quite hard to respond to such a challenge. But Joey Negro made it, workin’ out a different persepctive. And by that, forgetting about the filtered sounds that were around in the late 90’s. Meanwhile most definitely comin’ up with a new instrumentation of the whole. And what a transformation he brought to the whole at the end…

From the original, he just kept the chorus backing vocals featuring Taka Boom. As for the rest, it’s a totally different affair. With new drums, music and verse vocals courtesy of the late Diane Charlemagne.

‘Must Be The Music’ brings us back to the souvenir of ‘Back To The Future’. With Joey Negro showing the way to return Disco to the current times we’re living. Don’t you think?

Hard to not feel an instant impression of freshness as a matter of fact. Which is all what the biggest episodes in Disco have been about at the end. To make it short, it’s as if we were in front an unlikely meeting between Chic and these musicians who crafted the sound of groups like Change and the B.B. & Q. Band. Somehow reminding of the latter’s ‘Starlette’

Must be the music… Most definitely!

Download from Traxsource.

An incredible vocal talent and some definitive writing skills have allowed Diane Charlemagne to embrace like very few countless forms of music. From R&B to Soul, Jazz, House and Drum & Bass.

The Manchester native first rose to fame back at the end of the 80’s along with R&B band 52nd Street. With ‘Tell Me (How It Feels)’ standing as their best jam ever.
Managed by the ex-wife of Tony Wilson (the Hacienda), she eventually collaborated with Howie B and Doobie (of the Soul II Soul fame).

She got her breakthrough under the form of the memorable ‘Inner City Life’ where she shared the duties with famous junglist Goldie. She would then follow with a couple of hits for her as the lead singer of Urban Cookie Collective. The end of the 90’s seeing her digging deeper into Dance Music territories along with Judge Jules. But also Mutiny UK, K-Klass and Satoshi Tomiie. Not to mention Moby whom she’d toured with.

She is also remembered for her collaborations with UK Disco Don Joey Negro. Remember ‘Prove That You’re Feelin Me’ among others. If not her contribution to ‘Must Be The Music’. And she also happened to jam along with Opolopo on ‘Round And Round’. A cut which sadly saw the light on Z Records a few weeks before her passing.

Diagnosed with kidney cancer the previous year, Charlemagne sadly died of the disease on Oct. 28 2015, at the age of 51…

About indamixworldwide 2012 Articles
Story teller, record pusher, compiler & web designer...
%d bloggers like this: